CSU Student Ranks 10 in PCW Photography Contest

By Gender and Development Office

Posted on July 3, 2018

Nielmer DG Cabacungan, a student of CSU-Sanchez Mira ranked 10 in the recently concluded National Photography contest of Philippine Commission on Women in line with the celebration of the National Women's Month.

Among various schools and universities in the Philippines, Cabacungan, aced the top 10 best photo along with Pangasinan State University, University of the Philippnes Cebu, Cebu Technological University and more.
Highlighting the empowerment of women as active contributors and claim holders of development, his Photo captioned "Blaze of the Lamp" illustrates the realities of Filipino students from the remote areas.
“This aphorism truly exudes realities in the life of these lovely twins who are thirsty for education along the mountainous province of Luna, Apayao. There is this ‘sinulbong’ (innovated bottle lamp) which gives light to these Domingo sisters who have full of dreams in life. Shena and Shella, 11, are still studying their notes at night even the school year has already ended this month”, Cabacungan shared.
The twins who have bold- spirit, perseveres to finish their education even they are hard up to handle their situation. Although they have lack of needs to support their schooling, the Domingo family help each other to bring these girls in school. The twins are hoping that they can achieve all their dreams in life as long as the blaze of their lamp will continue to light their own paths – he added.
Cabacungan was moved by the perseverance of the twins to study as hard as possible to uplift the condition of their life despite the lack of needs to support their schooling.

Contact Us

  • Caritan Sur, Tuguegarao City, Cagayan Valley 3500

  • Phone: (078) 844-0098/0099 Loc. 122

  • Email: |

© 2017 Cagayan State University
Site developed and managed by MIS Office and Powered By Bitstop Network Services - Hosting Solutions

  • Official Gazette
  • Comission on Higher Education
  • Department of Budget and Management
  • Commission on Audit
  • Department of Science and Technology
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Civil Service Commission
  • National Economic and Development Authority